IndiaAbout India

About India

India is the world’s largest democracy, has a very diverse population, geography, and climate. India is the world’s second most populous country, as well as the seventh largest country by area. Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the south-west, and the Bay of Bengal on the south-east, it shares land borders with Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north-east; and Burma and Bangladesh to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka and the Maldives; in addition, India’s Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.

Dating from the Indus valley civilisation this vast region was discovered by many through sea and land routes with vast empires which was known for its rich wealth of culture and treasures in the past. The name “India” is derived from the River Indus, the valleys around which were the home of the early settlers. The Aryan worshippers referred to the river Indus as the Sindhu. The Persian invaders converted it into Hindu. The name “Hindusta”’ combines Sindhu and Hindu and thus refers to the land of the Hindus.

Four major world’s religion originated in India namely Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism and Sikkism. India got its independence on August 15th, 1947. It was the day when the Indians got liberated from the rule of the British.

India: At A Glance

Official Name: Bharat, also known as Republic of India ( Bhārat Gaṇarājya )
National Motto: “Satyameva Jayate”
National Anthem: Jana Gana Mana
National Songs:  Vande Matram
Capital: New Delhi
Location: India extends between latitudes 8°4′N and 37°6′N. It is a country of the east with its landmass lying between longitudes 68°7′E and 97°25′E.
Largest City: Mumbai
Official Languages: India has two national languages (Central Administrative). They are Hindi (in the devnagri) and English (associate official) . The Indian
Constitution has also officially recognizes 22 regional languages.
Religion: 79.8% Hinduism
14.2% Islam
2.3% Christianity1.7% Sikhism
0.7% Jainism
0.9% Others
Prime Minister:
Lok Sabha Speaker:
Chief Justice:
Droupadi Murmu
Jagdeep Dhankhar
Narendra Modi
Om Birla
Dhananjaya Y. Chandrachud
Legislature | Parliament of India
Upper House:
Lower House:
Rajya Sabha
Lok Sabha
Independance Day:
Republic Day:
15th August 1947
26th January 1950
Total Area:
Area wise in the world
3,287,263 square kilometers (1,269,219 sq miles)
2022 estimate:
2011 census:
Currency: Indian Ruppee (INR)
Time zone: IST (UTC+05:30)
Dialing code: +91
Date format: DD-MM-YYYY
Internet TLD .in
More Basic information About India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button