About IndiaFeatured

Some Basic Information About India

Here is the list of some basic information about India must be known by every Indian.

Official Name:Bharat, also known as Republic of India ( Bhārat Gaṇarājya )
Other Names of India:Hindustan, Bharat
Capital of India:New Delhi
Region:South Asia Indian subcontinent
Geographical Location:India extends between latitudes 8°4′N and 37°6′N. It is a country of the east with its landmass lying between longitudes 68°7′E and 97°25′E.
Largest City:Mumbai
Official Languages:India has two national languages (Central Administrative). They are Hindi (in the devnagri) and English (associate official) . The Indian
Constitution has also officially recognizes 22 regional languages.
Religion:79.8% Hinduism
14.2% Islam
2.3% Christianity
1.7% Sikhism
0.7% Jainism
0.9% Others
President:Droupadi Murmu
Vice-President:Jagdeep Dhankhar
Prime Minister:Narendra Modi
Chief Justice:
Dhananjaya Y. Chandrachud
Lok Sabha Speaker:Om Birla
Legislature | Parliament of India
Upper House:Rajya Sabha
Lower House:Lok Sabha
Independance Day:15th August 1947
Republic Day:26th January 1950
Area of India
Total Area:3,287,263 square kilometers (1,269,219 sq miles)
Forest cover of India:7,01,673 sq kilometers (435999.4 sq miles)
Area under Forest cover:21.34 % of Area of India
Area wise in the world:7th
Coastline of India:7,516.6 km (4,670.6 miles)
Land Frontier:15,200 Km (9444.8 miles)
Length from North to South:3214 Km (1997.0 miles)
Length from East to West:2933 Km (1822.4 miles)
Population of India
2022 estimate:1,375,586,000
2011 census:1,210,854,977
Population wise in the world:2nd
Population Density:382 persons per square kilometer
Sex Ratio :943 females per 1,000 males
Literacy :73.00%
Total land borders:15,106.70 km (9,386.87 miles)
Bangladesh:4,096.70 km (2,545.57 miles)
China (PRC):3,488 km (2,167 miles)
Pakistan:2,910 km (1,808 miles)
Nepal:1,751 km (1,088 miles)
Myanmar:1,643 km (1,021 miles)
Bhutan:699 km (434 miles)
Neighbouring Countries:India shares its political borders with Pakistan and Afghanistan on the west and Bangladesh and Myanmar on the east. The northern boundary is made up of the Sinkiang province of China, Tibet, Nepal and Bhutan. India is separated from Sri Lanka by a narrow channel of sea formed by the Palk Strait and Gulf of Mannar
Physical Feature of India:The physical features of India can be grouped under the following physiographic divisions:
1. The Northern Mountains2. The Peninsular Plateau
3. Indo-Gangetic Plain4. The Indian (Thar) Desert
5. The Coastal Plains6. The Islands
Climate in India:There are four seasons which are recognised by the IndiaMeteorological department. They are
1. The Cold Weather Season (December-February)2. The Hot Weather Season (March-May)
3. The Rainy Season / South-west Monsoon (June-September)4. The Season of Retreating South-west Monsoon (October-November)
Important Rivers:Ganga, Yamuna, Brahmaputra, Indus River, Godavari, Mahanadi,Krishna (also called Krishnaveni), Kaveri, Luni, Narmada, Sutlej, Jhelum, Koshi, Tapti
Important Mountains:Himalaya, Eastern Ghats, Western Ghats, Karakoram, Aravalli, Satpura
Main Agricultural Products:Rice, Wheat, Sugarcane, Cotton, Jute, Tea, Coffee, Spices
Major Seas of India:Bay of Bengal, Arabian Sea, Indian Ocean, Andaman Sea
Major Cities of India:Mumbai, Kolkata, New Delhi, Bangalore, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Pune, Hyderabad, Surat, Indore, Jaipur, Kanpur, Lucknow, Vadodara, Kochi
Festivals of India:Diwali, Holi, Dusshera, Navratri, Durga Puja, Rath Yatra, Kumbh Mela, Krishna Janmashtami, Ganesh Chaturthi, Gurupurab, Raksha Bandhan, Muharram, Id-ul-Fitr, Bihu, Hemis, Onam, Pongal, Good Friday, Christmas
Protected Areas of India:
Total No.Total Area
National Parks (NPs):10340500.13 sq km
Wildlife Sanctuaries (WLSs):537118005.33 sq km
Conservation Reserves (CRs):672349.38 sq km
Community Reserves:2646.93 sq km
Protected Areas (PAs):733160901.77 sq km
Indian States:29
Union Territories:6+ 1 Capital Territory
Currency:Indian Ruppee (INR)
Time zone:IST (UTC+05:30)
Dialing code:+91
Date format:DD-MM-YYYY
Internet TLD.in
National Things of India / National Symbols Of India
National Things of India / National Symbols of India
National Flag of India:Tricolor also known as Tiranga
National Anthem of India:“Jana Gana Mana”
National Song of India:“Vande Mataram”
National Motto of India:“Satyameva Jayate”
National Emblem of India:Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath
National Animal of India:Tiger
National Bird of India:Peacock
National Flower of India:Lotus
National Fruit of India:Mango
National Tree of India:Banyan Tree
National Game of India:Hockey
National River of India:Ganges or Ganga
National Calendar of India:Saka calendar
National Heritage Animal of India:Elephant
National Aquatic Animal of India:River Dolphin or Ganges river dolphin
National Reptile of India:King Cobra
National Currency of India:Indian Rupee
National Days of India:26th January (Republic Day)
15th August (Independence Day)
2nd October (Gandhi Jayanti; Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button